First week or so

I have finally moved in!

Check-in went pretty smoothly, as my assigned time was right away in the morning. After getting my Disney College Program Guide/Planner, I was given my location, Agent P’s World Showcase Adventure. Needless to say, I wasn’t too happy about that since I can’t stand the Phineas & Ferb cartoon. From there I was entered into the DORMS system, received my housing assignment (I got my first choice in Vista Way.), took my Housing ID picture, got my apartment ID, got my itinerary for the first week, and then was walked through the itinerary and the Disney Look.

 

As soon as I had gotten my housing assignment, I asked my dad to find the building so that we would be able to move in easily. I wasn’t too keen on being on the third floor, but after being in some other apartments, I’ve realized that our apartment seems significantly bigger, thanks in part to our vaulted ceiling and huge window in the living room … totally worth all the stairs. My building is also next to the pool and the clubhouse, and a pretty short walk to the bus stop. Moving in was sort of awkward … it was immediately obvious that someone else was still living in the apartment, but they either weren’t there or weren’t awake. Turns out two other girls still lived there, who had extended their own College Program, but decided not to clean the house in any way when they knew that 4 other girls would be moving in that day.

Moving all of my stuff in was super easy. I organized my room a little bit before having to go take a drug test. After that, I hung out with my dad and uncle down past Tampa. The next day we went and explored Downtown Disney, which is sooo much bigger than the one in California!

The next morning, after saying goodbye to my dad, who would be taking a plane back home, I had to go to Casting and to a Housing meeting. Casting was basically waiting through a bunch of different lines in order to do something incredibly simple. In the end, I turned in my I-9, got my training schedule, and confirmed personal information. To get through everything, it took me about over an hour. Although I think it took longer than it should have, the building itself was pretty. The housing meeting, although only an hour, I also felt went way longer than it needed to, but it was entertaining for the most part.

Since I hadn’t gone to Traditions yet and still didn’t have my blue Cast Member ID, I couldn’t get into the parks. Instead, some girls that my flatmate knew, said flatmate, and I explored Downtown Disney some more. We even hung out and did the Cha Cha Slide a couple times. The next day all of us new flatmates went over to a neighbor’s apartment to split making dinner, went out bowling, and spent the rest of the night at the pool. Since I STILL didn’t have Traditions, my flatmate, a new friend, and I went resort hopping. WDW definitely has some cool resorts!

We also went on the monorails while resort hopping, and I was able to find my new work location! It used to be Kim Possible’s World Showcase Adventure (which I super still wish it was), but I found out that so many kids no longer knew who KP was that they pretty much had to change the theme. And if that isn’t sad, I don’t know what is.

FINALLY, it was time for Traditions! It was basically the Orientation portion of any new job. We went over the Four Keys, the company motto and vision, all that good stuff. We received our first pair of ears, our name tags, explored the tunnels in the Magic Kingdom,  and was visited by the mouse himself. It was a lot of fun. But more importantly, I got my blue ID so I could finally get into the parks!!

After that, we hit the parks pretty frequently! It’s been a surreal amount of fun. Not too long after I had to go through training for my work location, but I think I’ll go through that in a separate post.

 

Leave a Reply

